Summa 16

Summertime is here. A time for growth, new connections, impressive internships, many success stories, and an all around new and improved you! Well, that’s what I thought my summer would be, unfortunately, it has been everything but that. I predicted my “summa 16” to be filled with exclusive internship assignments, trips around the East Coast, and the final discovery of where I want my career to go. Instead, I was hit with an embarrassing amount of rejection letters, a work schedule that never lets me leave the city, and even more confusion about my post- undergrad plans. But don’t worry this whole post won’t be a sob story of how I epically failed. I’m actually grateful that I’ve had so many struggles this summer. I’ve been given a hard taste of reality and I honestly like her spicy resilience. What’s a success story without controversy right?
Throughout this summer I’ve watched my friends and peers snapchat all the amazing things they’re doing in the best cubicles money can buy while I ask for the 100th time “Can I get you another beer to go with your meal?” However, this setback has only given me ample amount of time to plan for a MAJOR comeback. So who cares that no company wanted to hire me this summer, in the meantime I’ve talked to over 10 qualified professionals in my field learning, and utilizing the advice they’ve provided for me. Come August 22nd I will be the competitive, qualified, and confident young professional I was meant to be. We all have a plan for our lives and sometimes the plans derail and head for chaos, but isn’t that the fun of it all? We all have to try and fail and try and fail and try again until we win our victories. I encourage anyone who’s reading this that isn’t having the picture perfect moment in time to take a step back, analyze what you want in your life, apply the skills you need to get there and don’t take no for an answer. Because honestly no one knows what the hell we’re doing, but the best thing we can do is try.

4 thoughts on “Summa 16

  1. Love it! I have an internship and still feel like I’m not doing enough. We’re all superstars and are so hard on ourselves, but our future is brighter than ever. Super awesome blog post:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

